English Premier League, Football, History, Memories, British club culture, Heritage and more..

Mark Bright And Chris Waddle
1992-1993-Season History Posts

#PLHistory #premierleaguestories #PL on May 3 1993 – #ChrisWaddle of Sheffield Wednesday named Footballer of the year

Chris Waddle became the first Sheffield Wednesday player in 45 years to win the Footballer of the year award. He was also the first player from North England to win the award in 26 years since Bobby Charlton (1966) and Jackie Charlton (1967) won the prestigious award.

It had been a whirlwind year for Waddle who had been snubbed from England set up by national team manager Graham Taylor. But he showed his worth by beating likes of Paul Ince, Paul McGrath and Ryan Giggs to win the award.

Chris Waddle said “I can’t believe it. Its absoloutly fantastic. I never expected this even in my wildest of dreams.”

Embed from Getty Images

Premier League fans –  We would love to hear from you on the memories that you about English Premier League. Please fill out the form below and we would like to reach out to you and publish your “Premier League” moment to the world. 

[wpforms id=”9187″]

premier league fans



You cannot copy content of this page

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com