Connect with us

2020-2021-Season

#PLStories- #ThomasTuchel gives peculiar assessment of Manchester United penalty incident #ChelseaFC

Thomas Tuchel

Thomas Tuchel insisted Stuart Attwell made the right decision not to award Manchester United a penalty against Chelsea – because Mason Greenwood had handled the ball before Callum Hudson-Odoi. The referee was asked by the VAR to review a first-half incident involving Hudson-Odoi and Greenwood when the ball struck both players on the arm in quick succession.

Tuchel believes there was no need to stop the match in the first place because, he claims, Greenwood handled the ball first. Replays clearly show it was Hudson-Odoi whose hand made the initial contact with the ball.

Thomas Tuchel said: “How can this be an intervention? “The player in red plays the ball with his hand and then we are checking for a penalty. Why does the referee have to see this? You watch it for one second on the pad, or you watch it on the field live and then I see it on the pad, why does the referee need to see this? He does everything right, I don’t understand why he needs to check it but I’m glad it’s no penalty because that would be even worse.”

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer insisted after the game United should have been given the chance to take the lead from 12 yards: “Yep, 100 per cent (it’s a penalty). No idea (why it wasn’t given), not at all, especially when they stop it, he walks across to watch it. From here, you can see it’s a handball but you think it’s our player who does it and then when you look at it on the video, it’s taken two points away from us.”

Fans Donation

Donate to Premier League Museum

Donate to Premier League Museum

$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.
Billing Details

Donation Total: $1.00

Popular Posts

Recent Posts

Leaderboard

Leaderboard is empty

More in 2020-2021-Season

You cannot copy content of this page
%d bloggers like this: